//
you're reading...
Australian Politics, Feminism, Trish Corry, Women

My vote for Julia Gillard – Daily Life – Women of the Year Award


Image
Julia Gillard has earned my vote, as she has shown such strength through times of adversity. Times of adversity, that have been led by a group of men, who used their power and the power of the media to attempt to undermine her position and worth as Prime Minister of our great country. She has shown me true dignity and true resilience towards men who size me up and are vocal about my worth, on the basis of my choice of clothing, my ‘attractiveness’, and my rights to have an opinion based on my gender. She has empowered me personally to understand that it doesn’t matter how men judge us or specifically men in power judge us; women have a place in society to have an equal footing of power to make the changes they see necessary through their eyes and their view of the world. She has empowered me to start my own blog and to particularly be more active in social media to highlight and to raise awareness of how ‘men in blue ties’ continue to oppress women and the disadvantaged in our contemporary society. Her actions and words gave me the confidence to join the ALP and be more active in promoting and fighting for the country I want to be part of. PM Gillard’s misogyny speech, was not just about Tony Abbott. It was about giving every single woman the voice and the courage to speak out when we have had enough. It was about raising awareness to micro-discrimination and inequalities that permeates our society. Her Anne Summers talks recently, demonstrated that through a PM who is woman, we have paved the way for some serious progressive reforms that will make inroads in reducing inequality, by tackling head on the difficulties experienced by people with a disability and the disadvantaged in education. The Anne Summers talks also paved the way for women to see, that for every man’s voice, individual or collective who thinks they have the power and the intrinsic right to shout down a woman or ‘place women in certain (sub) positions in society; women can rise above this noise and remain dignified and valued by many and continue to contribute to make a better world. That is why Julia Gillard has my vote.
Nominations close Sunday 24/11/2013 11:59
About trishcorry

I love to discuss Australian Politics. My key areas of interest are Welfare, Disadvantage, emotions in the workplace, organisational behaviour, stigma, leadership, women, unionism. I am pro-worker and anti-conservativism/Liberalism. I am a proud member of the Australian Labor Party and you will find my blog posts written from a Laborist / Progressive Slant.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Trish Corry

trishcorry

trishcorry

I love to discuss Australian Politics. My key areas of interest are Welfare, Disadvantage, emotions in the workplace, organisational behaviour, stigma, leadership, women, unionism. I am pro-worker and anti-conservativism/Liberalism. I am a proud member of the Australian Labor Party and you will find my blog posts written from a Laborist / Progressive Slant.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,451 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

