//
you're reading...
Australian Politics, Trish Corry

Should there be a Law against Politicians Lying? – Julian Burnside AO QC


abbott promisedThis is something that frustrates me. I find the deceit and lies of some politicians, so disrespectful to the people who have voted for them. I am sharing this article as it provides food for thought. Different to what Julian Burnside AO QC, is suggesting in his article linked below, I would like to see this dealt with in parliament. Where if it can be established that the Government is amending policy to the degree that it is considered enough to constitute this to be a deceptive to the people to win votes, then this should be contained in Double Dissolution rulings, OR the Senate should be bound to reject anything that does not consist of the same policy / funding etc., as promised to the nation during the election. Separate rulings would need to be made for a hung parliament. As we have recently experienced, this is very different to a majority rule and a lot more complex. Then, regardless of who is in power, what the people voted for, is actually what the people will get and not a cheaper, nastier version. It would help to give some reassurance to voters that their vote is indeed valued and ensure that parties cannot use lies and deceit to win votes and Govern under false pretences.  However, I am a just a Blogger who shares my thoughts. Julian Burnside AO QC knows a LOT more about the law than I ever possibly could and these are just my thoughts and no disrespect intended. However, it is all food for thought.

One thing is certain: if it is possible for a politician to be jailed for misleading the public, we will hear a lot more truth from them.  That has to be a good thing. (Julian Burnside)

You can read Julian Burnside’s article here – It’s worth a read. POLITICIANS WHO MISLEAD THE PUBLIC

Photo Courtesy of Mid North Coast Greens BlogSpot

About trishcorry

I love to discuss Australian Politics. My key areas of interest are Welfare, Disadvantage, emotions in the workplace, organisational behaviour, stigma, leadership, women, unionism. I am pro-worker and anti-conservativism/Liberalism. I am a proud member of the Australian Labor Party and you will find my blog posts written from a Laborist / Progressive Slant.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Should there be a Law against Politicians Lying? – Julian Burnside AO QC

  1. Looks like your polls running neck and neck Trish. I think that everyone would like to hold politicians to account for broken promises but as you point out, it would be very difficult. Nonetheless, if it could be done, this Coalition government would already be heading for the door! As I’ve argued previously, I’ll give Abbott no more than eighteen months before he’s replaced as leader. And who knows, the Senate may reject all bills by the NLP and then we’ll have a D.D.

    Like

    Posted by edward eastwood | December 3, 2013, 7:14 am
  2. Its like you learn my thoughts! You seem to understand
    so much approximately this, like you wrote the ebook in it or something.
    I feel that you can do with a few percent to force the message house a little bit, however instead of
    that, this is fantastic blog. An excellent read. I’ll certainly be back.

    Like

    Posted by http://binare-optionen-wir-wissen-wie-man-geld-verdient.blogg.asia/ | December 14, 2013, 11:43 pm

Leave a Reply

Trish Corry

trishcorry

trishcorry

I love to discuss Australian Politics. My key areas of interest are Welfare, Disadvantage, emotions in the workplace, organisational behaviour, stigma, leadership, women, unionism. I am pro-worker and anti-conservativism/Liberalism. I am a proud member of the Australian Labor Party and you will find my blog posts written from a Laborist / Progressive Slant.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,451 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

