//
you're reading...
Australian Politics

No! I don’t defend your right to say it


stop-hate

 

When your words make her put her wrist to the razor

I don’t defend your right to say it!

When you words make people spit and stare at her

I don’t defend your right to say it!

When your words make a mother shed endless tears

I don’t defend your right to say it!

When your words make them feel they don’t belong here

I don’t defend your right to say it!

When your words inflict pain and distress on beautiful faces

I don’t defend your right to say it!

When your words mean we need the safest of spaces

I don’t defend your right to say it!

When your words make others stigmatise and shun

I don’t defend your right to say it!

When your words incite thoughts of killing and guns

I don’t defend your right to say it!

When your words make a young man die alone by a tree

I don’t defend your right to say it!

When your words make a father grieve ’til he’s empty

I don’t defend your right to say it!

When your words make their day as dark as the night

I don’t defend your right to say it!

When your words make suicide a national plight

I don’t defend your fight to say it!

When your words are divisive so hateful they kill

I don’t defend your right to say it!

When your words make someone’s best friend overdose on pills

I don’t defend your right to say it!

When your words make no one sit near him on the bus

I don’t defend your right to say it!

When your words make it all about them and us

I don’t defend your right to say it!

When your words make another feel less than whole

I don’t defend your right to say it!

When your words eat away slowly at a beautiful soul

I don’t defend your right to say it!

When your excuse for this harm is speech and freedom

To self-absolve from the hurt that you have caused

I say your words are sick and I condemn them

To honour the beautiful lives forever paused.

About trishcorry

I love to discuss Australian Politics. My key areas of interest are Welfare, Disadvantage, emotions in the workplace, organisational behaviour, stigma, leadership, women, unionism. I am pro-worker and anti-conservativism/Liberalism. I am a proud member of the Australian Labor Party and you will find my blog posts written from a Laborist / Progressive Slant.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “No! I don’t defend your right to say it

  1. Yet in Australia we currently have issues boiling up since the accidental election of Abbott into the LOTOship when Godwin Grech brought down Malcolm Turnbull and leading to Julia Gillard making her timely HoR redress of Tony Abbott in the now famous Sexism/Misogynist speech

    This culmination is being brought to a head now in Australia in changes called to 18C in the supposed name of “free speech”
    Here are some of those Parliamentary faces calling for this so called “free speech” and woe behold those wanting resolution to SSM if this somehow comes about [and much much more]

    “Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that.
    Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.”
    ― Martin Luther King Jr.

    Like

    Posted by Bighead1883 | September 14, 2016, 6:13 am
  2. Could we have a trigger warning for this piece, please.

    Like

    Posted by Dan Rowden | September 14, 2016, 9:53 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The Red Window Blog – 2016 in Review | The Red Window - January 1, 2017

Leave a Reply

Trish Corry

trishcorry

trishcorry

I love to discuss Australian Politics. My key areas of interest are Welfare, Disadvantage, emotions in the workplace, organisational behaviour, stigma, leadership, women, unionism. I am pro-worker and anti-conservativism/Liberalism. I am a proud member of the Australian Labor Party and you will find my blog posts written from a Laborist / Progressive Slant.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,451 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

