//
you're reading...
Australian Politics, Bikie Laws, Bullying, Civil Liberties, Unity, VLAD

I am humanity – the change starts with me. Does it start with you? A fight for civil liberties

Please watch and share this video.  This is one of the best leadership speeches I have ever heard in my lifetime. Spoken by Katrina, a wife and mother from the Logan community. Please take everything in Katrina is saying and show support against the VLAD laws (aka ‘the bikie laws’) and the importance of standing up and uniting

“These people do not care about us. We need to care about us”  (Katrina Soakai)

For those who don’t have sound enabled or for those with a disability who need an alternative to video – I’ve typed the full transcript below:

Transcript of speech by Katrina Soakai, 13 Dec 2013

Hi, my name is Katrina. I’m a mother of five. I’m 36 years old, not quite 37, that is next week. But I’m basically a citizen of Australia, I was born at the Mater Brisbane Hospital. I’m not a doctor, I’m not a teacher, I’m a human being and as a human being…I’m imploring… that all of you stand up on the 26th of January, 2014, to stand up for humanity.  So it doesn’t matter if you are black, white, orange, purple, grey. It doesn’t matter if you are Catholic, it doesn’t matter if you are Muslim. It doesn’t matter if you believe in Jehovah, or like me you believe in the universe. Our beliefs and our colour have nothing to do with this.

This is for our children, this is for our future. and basically, these laws that have hit QLD; I know according to mainstream media they’re trying to protect us from the bikies. But here is the reality, this law was not designed just for the bikies.  If I decide on a Friday afternoon, to catch up with two or more friends at a hotel, and I don’t ask credentials of my friends past. I don’t ask them if they are…Do they know anyone in a bikie club? Do they know anyone in any club? Does anyone in that club have criminal history of association with a bikie club?  Do you normally ask your friends these questions? Well as of today and the day that law was brought in, we must. For if we don’t. Me, for just associating with people, could land in jail for six months….Six months.

Now you read that law and the age of technology, ignorance is a choice.  I don’t care whether you believe that fluoride is good or bad. I don’t care if you believe in ChemTrails. I just want you to believe in yourselves and know you are here for a very short time.

And they try and cloud us with all these gadgets and gizmos and Justin Biebers and Mylie Cyrus’s, so we don’t care about each other, so we stand divided, that we do not unite. That we do not take our power back. If it is bad for us….oh and it is bad for us. Six families in my world have not had hot water for over a year. They’re not junkies, they don’t put their money in the pubs, they are hard working people, but there is not enough to go around.  But instead of talking to each other we are ashamed, and we hold that in. Therefore we don’t link. Well  I for one stopped doing that over two years ago and I’m linking and my world today is empowering and it’s honest and it’s truthful.

For my animal lovers out there. Thank you for the job you’re doing. Your voice needs to be heard, but this system is strangling you too. These people do not care about us. We must care about us.

Bullying…our children watch it with us. Our children watch it when we walk through the shopping centre. We can’t even smile at each other? I walk through the school, not a smile… and our children are expected to pay that ripple affect on in their school yard?  I do not want to bury another child… before their time. Cos you see people, if there is no hope for us, there is no hope for our children.

26th January, 2014 is time for us to unite and show whoever is running this world and do not be naive and think it is just our government, because it’s not. Like I said before it’s time to unite. Black, white, yellow, orange, shaved head, no hair. I don’t care what your eyes look like. We’ve all got a heart beat. We all must stand up for us. For US.  We are here… this (shows small space with fingers)… this….this long.

I am emotional, because I see the bigger picture. I don’t want to leave my country…but I will.  I don’t want to leave Logan, but I will.  I need everyone to stand up and come in, and I don’t care what you believe in, just stand together.  I am so happy to announce….history in the making people.  Our Indigenous brothers and sisters, who first hand knows of the injustices our world can deliver and our country can deliver, are standing with us, uniting. It is not a colour issue, it is not a land issue, it is a humanity issue.  So I implore you, share this video, share your world, show it to your world. Our children and their children, need us to get off our butts and start caring. Do not let, the system, no matter what, whether it is health, or education, don’t let it hit you in the head, before you start having empathy. Cos that is what I watch. I watch that my world doesn’t care. “Oh well, it doesn’t bother me, it doesn’t affect me”. Don’t let the universe bring that to you people, then you may get empathy. Don’t lose your nephew or your niece or God forbid your child to bullying. We must stop bullying each other and that is a fact. Blame the world, blame the system, but we need to look at us and start looking at the person, not the story.  But that is another video, this video is about us uniting.

26th January, 2014. These laws are one of the issues. There are going to be plenty of rallies and protests at all different areas. But 26th January, 2014, we are uniting, we are going to stand together and colour, race, religion has nothing to do with it.

We got one thing in common people, we all have a heart and it beats and we all bleed. We’re not different. Its our world that makes us different. Its the mainstream media that creates fear, that keeps us separated. Like I said before, in this age of intelligence, ignorance is a choice. Facebook was not the only reason, the internet was created.

Our ancestors were not so lucky. There were people that fought for us a long time ago and if they didn’t get up and they didn’t fight, like Malcolm X. Like so many people that fought for black rights, I would not be with my husband today. I would not have the five beautiful children I have today, if they did not get up and fight for that. So yeh…I am a human and I will be there that day. I’m a mother and I will be there that day. I am a member of this community and I will be there that day.

But most of all, I am humanity and the change starts with me. Does it start with you?  Love…always. [end]

Katrina Soakai

About trishcorry

I love to discuss Australian Politics. My key areas of interest are Welfare, Disadvantage, emotions in the workplace, organisational behaviour, stigma, leadership, women, unionism. I am pro-worker and anti-conservativism/Liberalism. I am a proud member of the Australian Labor Party and you will find my blog posts written from a Laborist / Progressive Slant.

Discussion

19 thoughts on “I am humanity – the change starts with me. Does it start with you? A fight for civil liberties

  1. Reblogged this on The Australian Independent Media Network and commented:

    Please watch and share this video. This is one of the best leadership speeches I have ever heard in my lifetime. Spoken by Katrina, a wife and mother from the Logan community. Please take everything in Katrina is saying and show support against the VLAD laws (aka ‘the bikie laws’) and the importance of standing up and uniting

    Like

    Posted by trishcorry | December 30, 2013, 1:05 am
  2. A very moving speech. 2014, the year of organized resistance against neo-liberalism and its attendant oppression of workers and human rights!
    WE WILL PREVAIL! Sorry to shout but like Howard Beale, I’m as mad as hell and I for one am not taking it anymore!

    Like

    Posted by edward eastwood | December 30, 2013, 7:08 am
  3. Where are all the civil and human rights lawyers. Why can’t they jump aboard and HELP our fight against these bullshit laws ???

    Like

    Posted by Peter | December 30, 2013, 8:47 am
  4. Where are the so-called libertarians of the right wing? A case of ‘some are more liberated than others’?

    Like

    Posted by diannaart | December 30, 2013, 11:32 am
  5. Awesome

    Like

    Posted by chantchhaya | December 30, 2013, 12:48 pm
  6. Let me know where there is a rally closest to Lismore,.

    Like

    Posted by doctorrob54 | December 30, 2013, 9:02 pm
  7. Reblogged this on Akashma News and commented:
    The time has come where we must chose to stand for humanity as a whole. Now that we have the power in our hands; that’s right we have the power to change our world. We still free, we still have the internet, this marvelous vehicle of communication. Use it wisely and stand up for our rights to survive as a free men.

    Like

    Posted by Akashma Online News | December 30, 2013, 11:00 pm
  8. well done I salute your efforts.

    Like

    Posted by Roberto | December 31, 2013, 1:12 am
  9. Hi Everyone. I posted a comment on the vid asking when the Rally will take place. Here is Katrina’s response cut and paste below:

    Hi Patricia, On the 26th on January 2014, We are meeting in Brisbane City, King George Square at 1130 pm…. In other area’s and states, They are meeting at their Parliment houses… All we need to bring is Our Hearts on our sleeves…. Now is the time…. If you caught the Sydney Fire Works… NWO is not hiding the fact that our Government has Sold us as Crash test dummies….. Together we can stop this….. 

    Like

    Posted by trishcorry | January 5, 2014, 9:59 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: But most of all, I am humanity and the change starts with me. Does it start with you? A Fight for Our Civil Liberties | OzHouse - December 30, 2013

  2. Pingback: I am humanity – the change starts with me. Does it start with you? A fight for civil liberties | PNCAU - December 31, 2013

Leave a Reply

Trish Corry

trishcorry

trishcorry

I love to discuss Australian Politics. My key areas of interest are Welfare, Disadvantage, emotions in the workplace, organisational behaviour, stigma, leadership, women, unionism. I am pro-worker and anti-conservativism/Liberalism. I am a proud member of the Australian Labor Party and you will find my blog posts written from a Laborist / Progressive Slant.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,627 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

