//
you're reading...
Australian Politics

My World Outside MSM: 4 July 2017

cat-operating-funny-comuter

This is the first of a regular new series on my blog, where I will share my favourites as I traipse about Independent News and Social Media, in the world outside the MSM.  All faves are embedded, so please click on any picture or link to view or read the original. 

Best News Article This Week

My Favourite article this week was an article written by Duncan Storrar published on Independent Australia. This article really appealed to me. The author has placed children at the centre of the debate. If politicians did this, the world would be a much better place.

article-10463-hero

How successive gov’ts have ensured we’ll have a gangland war in 5 to 10 years

The methods we are using to deal with troubled children is turning them into hardened criminals, writes Duncan Storrar. The Cain Government of Victoria of the 1980s was very progressive. As such, it spent a lot of money moving from a 19th Century British approach to children in peril towards a more humane “Scandinavian” approach.

Favourite Political Video of the Week

My favourite video of the week is this video of Bill Shorten at the Labor Tasmania State Conference. This is the Bill that the MSM refuses to show.  Rowan @fightingtories is Tweeting these as he sees them. Good on you Rowan!  I like this video he tweeted too, but my fave video this week is below this tweet. 

This is the Bill that the MSM doesn’t show

Favourite Blog Post This Week

My favourite blog post this week is written by Andrew Hartwell on Medium.  For anyone who follows my writing knows that I talk a lot about narrative. I see patterns in narrative every day.  It is one reason I find social media and independent media intriguing. These patterns, through commentary, conversation and the narrative of politicians and even memes, contrast with the mainstream media. This creates our world. Narrative is powerful. The Author is right when he says:

Why Voters Don’t Care About Facts – Andrew Hartwell – Medium

“Please, fact-checkers, get to work.” That was Hillary Clinton’s exasperated plea during her first debate with Donald Trump. They dutifully complied: Trump was endlessly called out on his constant falsehoods by professional fact-checkers. Here’s the harshest fact-check of them all: all the fact-checkers in the world couldn’t stop Donald Trump from becoming president.

Top Tweets

Some Top Tweets of the Week are:

Everything Clinton is Tops! 

Oh Teapot, Teapot Before My Eyes.
Is it Me or Tones who is Most Despised?

WorkChoices – So Quiet – You didn’t even hear it come in.

Timeless BAM!

Memes of the Week

The Floor is Human Decency 😂 😂 😂 

TwoEyedHead is a new Follow for me. Really good animated political memes. Recommended Follow.

A Novel by Richard DiNatale 😂 😂 😂

Petitions worth Signing

My World Outside The MSM

Thanks to everyone who has shared my posts this week. In case you missed them – My blog posts this week were:

Liberal Bludgers Should Engage in Job Creation

Satire or Serious – You be the judge. Written from the perspective of the media reporting on the Liberals like they do about those on Welfare.

A Kiss for Lee. A Punch in the Face for Tones 

A compare and contrast of the stories about Lee Rhiannon and Tony Abbott and the reactions to them.

Well, that was my world outside the MSM over the last week. How did your’s go?

About trishcorry

I love to discuss Australian Politics. My key areas of interest are Welfare, Disadvantage, emotions in the workplace, organisational behaviour, stigma, leadership, women, unionism. I am pro-worker and anti-conservativism/Liberalism. I am a proud member of the Australian Labor Party and you will find my blog posts written from a Laborist / Progressive Slant.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “My World Outside MSM: 4 July 2017

  1. What a good idea!..best of luck..must take a lot of time…

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by freefall852 | July 4, 2017, 10:04 pm
  2. Funky idea Trish 🙂 Wasn’t that an awesome, and inspiring speech by Bill. I was there and boy did it get the room pumped 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Shane | July 5, 2017, 4:33 am

Leave a Reply

Trish Corry

trishcorry

trishcorry

I love to discuss Australian Politics. My key areas of interest are Welfare, Disadvantage, emotions in the workplace, organisational behaviour, stigma, leadership, women, unionism. I am pro-worker and anti-conservativism/Liberalism. I am a proud member of the Australian Labor Party and you will find my blog posts written from a Laborist / Progressive Slant.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,627 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

